Sunday, December 18, 2011
Potty training
Rodney has been going potty in the toilet for 3 days now. He is on his 4th day. I wasn't going to push it until after Christmas because I had just taken his binky away but Rodney has been doing so well and basically potty trained himself! He kept saying pee when he was in the tub without water and I kept checking to see if he had peed and I didn't see any. After him saying that a few times I took him out and put him on the toilet and he peed!! He went through 7 pair of underwear that day trying to get the hang of it but he still went in the potty all of those times too. Th next day he didn't have any accidents other than poop until the afternoon, When I left for the grocery store. Yesterday day three we were at auntie bugs house for Christmas baking day and he pooped in his pants three times. He was having some stomach issues. But the fourth time he even pooped in the toilet! He is so proud and so am I when he figures it out. It's almost like you can see the light bulb! He still sleeps in diapers but he woke up from a nap dry too. It is common in the McFadden family to have bed wetting problems so I'm not pushing it. He is doing so well and I will be happy not to buy any more diapers until this new little one blesses us with it's presence!
Rodney and the binky part 2
Rodney has done really well without his binky. He has now gone 5 full days! Last night he woke up hysterical at about 11 and wanted it. It was really bizarre. Nothing I could do would help until I let him cry for about 5 minutes and went back in his room. He then calmed down after getting two cups o chocolate milk and some songs. He didn't ask for it at all until we were in the car on our way home from auntie bugs house last night. It was Christmas baking day yesterday. I had Rodney so I didn't really get to do much baking. He can go to sleep easily without his binky and he hasn't wanted it during the day much for the last 6 months. He is getting to be quite a big boy!
Rodneys first Lego creation
Rodney was in the shower with me this morning and he has built two identical horses! The only thing we have made out of legos are guns. A simple two pieces. Today out of nowhere he created two horses and when I got out of the shower I asked him where his horse was so I could take a picture. It had fallen apart so he created more on command!! How did he learn to make things out of legos?? I can't even make things out of legos! Smart kid.
Wednesday, December 14, 2011
Day One of Operation Binky-B-Gone
Rodney has recently been moved to a big boy bed. Marks sister Mandy has been staying with us this fall and as soon as a makeshift bed went up for her he decided that a big bed was much better than a crib. He refused to sleep in the crib, actually. So in November I started shopping around for a big bed and found a bed on craigslist that had never been slept on for only 125 including the frame. I will take it! He has loved it. I however have not enjoyed it as much because when he has slept in it all night long his binky gets lost. It either is on the floor or he just can't find it when it is right next to him. He has only had his binky at night and during naps for a while now but waking up in the night just to find a stinking binky is NOT my idea of fun! :) So, yesterday was the day when we would be home for a couple of days so I cut his binky tips and they were officially "broken". It was upsetting at first but he got over it pretty quick. No nap, which I expected. He wasn't upset all morning. But when it came to the time when he usually had it (nap time) he kinda flipped. Last night was the same but he was so tired from no nap he fell asleep very quickly. I was thinking that he would wake up a few times in the night. But, he only woke up once and that was because he was cold. He didn't even ask for it! Wahoo!! He did wake up about an hour before I thought he would and was really upset about his binky... Hopefully after today we will be over the hurdle and ready to move on!! ***fingers crossed***
Tuesday, November 22, 2011
Rodney
I am feeling really proud of Rodney. He has started to really like playing with this game we got from Kim an Travis for Christmas a few years ago.it's called He likes to just move the pieces around and trap the little people. He is surprising me in how good he is at manipulating the pieces to do what he wants. I just watched him for probably 30 minutes in awe. He's not this big yet is he?? I love him so much!
Pregnant
So a few weeks ago I found out I was pregnant. I was really freaked out to even do the pregnancy test. I didn't think I was quite ready for this and Mark was really good to me while I had a good cry. I was really scared because the last miscarriage really put me through it. I had a hard time with it. Hard enough I had Mom come out to see me. I had decided that I wasn't ready to try again because it was still too fresh and the thought of having two kids kinda freaks me out... doubling the number of offspring is huge!! apparantly God had a different plan. So here we go. I am 8 weeks and 6 days right now as far as I know and this is the danger zone. If I miscarry or find out that I had miscarried it is now.
Tuesday, May 3, 2011
Random Ramblings
I am sitting here in the computer lab at school the week before finals and looking for anything to do but school. I am frustrated with my human behavior teacher. He is awful! He is making me feel like an idiot and a liar. He made me get a doctors note for missing the class for my D & C. And, he is making me feel like an idiot for going to Marks cousins funeral. For knowing a lot about human behavior and what makes people act the way they do he is clueless!
I figured out yesterday that I am not getting any break between classes. I am done on Wednesday and start summer semester next monday. ugh. I am starting to get quite burnt out. The benefit of doing school this summer is that I will have a 5 week break in the middle of summer. And I can do anything for 5 weeks right? ... we'll have to see.
Easter was really fun last week. We went to Michael and Shelly's house. I love going down there. We always have so much fun. Rodney was in Choo-Choo heaven. He is so obsessed with trains right now it is crazy, but cute.
I am having a hard time wrapping my head around Marks cousin Wendy's death. She got a blood clot in her lung is the tentative cause of death. I feel so sad for her husband and her children. She was pregnant with another little girl which would have made 2 boys and 2 girls. But, she died the other day too. It makes me want to just cry for them. I don't know what I would do as a husband having to take care of the three little ones and go to medical school and cope with the loss of his best friend and eternal companion. I am also nervous to meet all of the Seamons family. I have only ever met Danny and Heather (obviously) and Danny's parents. otherwise it will be all new for me.
Thats all I have time for now. I must be off to class! With my lovely teacher mentioned above....
I figured out yesterday that I am not getting any break between classes. I am done on Wednesday and start summer semester next monday. ugh. I am starting to get quite burnt out. The benefit of doing school this summer is that I will have a 5 week break in the middle of summer. And I can do anything for 5 weeks right? ... we'll have to see.
Easter was really fun last week. We went to Michael and Shelly's house. I love going down there. We always have so much fun. Rodney was in Choo-Choo heaven. He is so obsessed with trains right now it is crazy, but cute.
I am having a hard time wrapping my head around Marks cousin Wendy's death. She got a blood clot in her lung is the tentative cause of death. I feel so sad for her husband and her children. She was pregnant with another little girl which would have made 2 boys and 2 girls. But, she died the other day too. It makes me want to just cry for them. I don't know what I would do as a husband having to take care of the three little ones and go to medical school and cope with the loss of his best friend and eternal companion. I am also nervous to meet all of the Seamons family. I have only ever met Danny and Heather (obviously) and Danny's parents. otherwise it will be all new for me.
Thats all I have time for now. I must be off to class! With my lovely teacher mentioned above....
Sunday, April 3, 2011
April 3, 2011
Sarah told me how she does this personal blog for her journal where she can post her more personal things as her journal because it is easier for her to type. It is much easier for me to type, so we'll give this a go! On Monday the 28th of March 2011 I found out that I miscarried. It was my third miscarriage. I went in to make sure that there was a heartbeat and when they didn't find one with the doplar ultra-sound tool they took me right in to do a full blown ultra-sound and find out what was going on. When there wasn't a heartbeat they sent me back to the exam room so we could talk with the doctor and find out what was next. We scheduled my D and C for Tuesday. Mom had all her siblings in town for her 65th bday so I didn't call her until wednesday. I didn't want to call her and ruin her birthday by telling her that we were getting a d and c. No family knew that we were even pregnant because we didn't want to tell them until we were past the 14 week mark. I don't know for sure why I am more affected by this miscarriage but I am. I don't know if I just thought that I miscarried last time so it wouldn't happen again or what. In any case, I called Mom again on Wednesday after I had already told her that morning and asked her if she could come visit. We went to pick her up a week later, on Wednesday, and had a day full of errands. Mark got a textbook for this fall from the bookstore at Arapaho CC, we went to lunch at Saigon Palace (mmm....super bowl!), picked up some hockey tickets for Mandy and Mark to go to a game on the 8th, stopped in Loveland to fill out a ride-along form and then finally came home! It was so fun to show Mom this house we love so much and the dressers I have repainted. Thursday I had to go to school. I really didn't want to go while she was here for obvious reasons. But, I hadn't gone twice the week before because of the miscarriage so I didn't feel I had much of a choice. Friday we went to Home Depot and mom bought me some turntables for my spices in the kitchen counter, peat moss for the garden, and a raspberry start. We reorganized my spice cabinets which has made such a difference. She also cleaned up our bookshelf, and did every dish the entire time they were here. I felt so spoiled and LOVED having her here. I love my Mom and sometimes as awesome as Mark is I still need the understanding of a Mother who has gone through this exact thing. It was really hard to see her go. Last night I went into Rodney's room because I just wanted to hold him. I can't feel so bad for myself because I really am blessed. As hard as this last week and almost 2 weeks I just can't feel awful because I have a wonderful husband, beautiful son, a home we love living in, and education possibilities.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)



